First Impressions: Republic of Thieves

Short Version: Read it. But read the others first.

~

So it’s no huge secret that I’m a giant fan of Scott Lynch. When I first read The Lies of Locke Lamora I found myself instantly hooked, which is as typical as it gets, but something truly clicks with me and Lynch’s style of writing. There continues an air of mischievous humor even in the prose, and further research proved that hey, wouldn’t you know it, but I’ve found an author that I really admire who is in fact not dead from decades ago. By the time I got around to Dune, The Hero With A Thousand Faces, and a number of others, it came not as a shock, but a simple bout of disappointment.

Kinda like when Leslie Nielson died. I rather would have liked to have met him.

https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/4229161216/h10E32619/

Imagine my joy to find Scott Lynch avidly plying his trade, eagerly leading me to his sequels and even pondering the movie rights.

Anyway, I recently deigned to quit reading Lord of the Rings, and it was in fact in favor of Lynch’s Republic of Thieves, the third of the Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard series. The adventures of Locke Lamora and Jean Tannen continue in another lovingly dialogued story that – as of this post – I’ve only gotten to about 1/3 into. I usually like to wait until after finishing books before talking about them, but gods this is a load of fun. Some longstanding questions are at last getting their answers, and so far the results do not fall short.

~~~

In other news, perhaps as a blatant attempt to fatten this post more than it has any right to be, my own writing has been progressing decently. Much of this I owe to those in my various circles, and I can’t stress enough the importance of having friends – digital or in meatspace – the likes of whom one can bounce off ideas or similarly have their ideas bounce off you. They aren’t hard to find either – the NaNoWriMo Facebook group has proven tremendously helpful in ameliorating a particular plot/story element that’s been bugging me for maybe a year now.

I’ll end the post for today with a track from a game known as Natural Selection 2. As with a lot of my music, I never played the game, but I can best describe this as a Tibetan Cyber Monk on the warpath.

Happy writing, dear readers!

 

Leave a Reply

