Experience: Writing From It

People get their inspiration from all kinds of sources. Anyone familiar with this blog would know that I often recommend folks to go out and do things. But often enough it’s not so much the things we do that give us perspective and life experience, but rather the things that happen to us.

I’ve been debating on tackling a short story idea that has sort of manifested as a result some Life Circumstances I’ve had to wad through. On one hand, they say write what you know, and on the other, the Writer within me observes the world at all times with one of two thoughts happening: “How can I use this?” and, preferably “I can use this.”

It is my rudimentary understanding that people don’t really write all that much if they’re happy, or more to the point, write so much about happy things. Lack of conflict is boring, every storyteller knows that. The question is, how can one utilize their emotions, their tribulations, their experience, constructively.

I once did work for someone who took this idea by the reigns and went and wrote a book about some serious relationship turmoil she had been going through for a year. Not long ago, I met up with an old friend-of-the-family who was in the process of her own autobiographical novel. I confess having done something similar once – a rather specific scene – in a yet-to-be-refined-and-published work of mine, but the entirety of that scene was fictionalize. The only part that was true to experience was the emotion involved.

So my short story idea has in part been inspired by what these folks I know have done (and do), as well as the Life Circumstances themselves. The tricky part is, for me, that my goal is not to tell a believable human interest story set in the Real World. My goal is to express myself, but through the filter/lens of my adored medium: Fantasy.

I have read that whenever a writer writes and an author authorizes, every character they create has some piece of the creator in them. Makes sense, yea? How much or little is up to you, but in the case of this short story – sort of a standalone origin story for a non-protagonist character in my novels – there’ll be just enough to make the person expressive for my own therapeutic purposes, but also (hopefully) interesting enough to give the character unforeseen depth.

On the other hand, I could just end up churning out another rag. But I prefer to be optimistic. After all, as of this post, I’ve got a month to see if I can pull it off in time for Writers of the Future.

Happy writing, dear readers. As a closing, here is an excellent and optimistic chiptune track I discovered recently.

Leave a Reply

