Inspire: Halloween To Me

I guess it’s about time I do a Halloween special. Don’t worry, there won’t be any Hanukkah, Thanksgiving, or Christmas ones. Though there may be something about Thanksgivukkah this year.

As I do not have children nor have I been one for some time, it’s been awhile since last I knocked on a neighbor’s house like a Jehova’s Witness and asked for candy. Not that I’d do much with it anyway; too many years in the health food industry have endowed me with a sort of paranoid fear of high fructose corn syrup. Furthermore, I was brought up in an extremely rural setting – lets just say we had no neighbors – so I was never taken out on this strange community pilfering ritual.

Now, that’s not to say I haven’t enjoyed a good costume. There was this one time I was visiting friends at a college not my own, all dressed up as Dark Link – won a useless lava lamp at the costume contest. No one asked whether or not I was a student there. Last year, I met with some friends and went out on the town of NYC in a full-body gorilla suit.

Clearly, you can tell I know how to pass an evening in style.

As for the holiday itself, I remember writing an essay on the alignment of the day. I figure lots of folks see Halloween as “evil” time, though of course rational adults understand it as just another excuse for people to put on masks and show off their bondage outfits in public. The Hallow’s Weening has Pagan roots. Which of course means evil to, well, people of devout persuasion.

But I digress.

I remember proposing that Halloween, even before I knew the whole Celtic harvest festival thing, was in fact a Neutral day – as opposed to a Good or an Evil time. As often happened when I voiced my ideas to class, everyone fell dead silent and didn’t know how to react. At least my English Teacher at the time understood what I was getting at. “So,” she had said, “perhaps Halloween isn’t good, or evil, it just is.”  My influence for this thought was, in full and to the exclusion of all other things, The Nightmare Before Christmas.

I kept that last part to myself.

Fear is a fun thing to ruminate over, though. Call it superstition, call it “weakness of the mind” – I prefer to think of Fear as (occasionally, anyway) translatable to “good imagination.” For an excellent, EXCELLENT 9 minutes about the science of creepiness, check out this video by Vsauce.

Now, sleep well, dear readers, and…

Or better yet, if you have any memories of Halloween you’d care to share, leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

