Experience: NaNoWriMo

So those of you amongst the worded folk may have heard of an annual event known as the National Novel Writing Month  – aka NaNoWriMo. Those of you familiar with this, go ahead and skip the following paragraph.

~

NaNoWriMo is an event I’d heard of in the past but never really took time to check out until this year. Every November, from the 1st to 30th, participating writers are encouraged to write a novel in a month. I often see numbers along the lines of 50,000 words, which isn’t really that big in terms of novels. But in a month? Well, I’ve heard it doable. Those of you without a calculator handy, that comes out to approximately 1,666 words written a day. The NaNoWriMo is not a competition, and it costs nothing to enter. it is merely encouragement, and they encourage community groupage; it isn’t hard to find people near you. I live pretty out of the way, and was pleasantly surprised to find people even near me.  As of this writing, we meet for the first time tomorrow.

Check it out.  It starts on November 1st, so it isn’t too late to sign up!

~

Right then. So I’ll be a first-time WriMo, or a NaNo, or whatever it is they call noobies. I find the impending month to be exhilarating, as I’ve already drafted out a story and have been working on timelines, setting, character and their motivations, and the like. It isn’t a race, but I feel as a sprinter, edgy for someone to fire the gun.

As a result, it may be difficult for me to keep up the blog, but I do not want to make any excuses. Not even NaNoWriMo will keep me from uploading posts about writing, about fantasy, about storytelling, or anything in between.

I highly recommend anyone whose had a book in their mind to consider this. You may not even wish to use the time to write a novel – I have heard of folks who use NaNoWriMo’s positive, pressured atmosphere and encouraging community to write out short stories, or even blog posts. I imagine it would be a large store of ’em, more than half a year’s worth of weekly posts ready to go.

And now for something completely different.

Leave a Reply

