NYCMidnight 2013 Submission

And so it was that I managed to complete my short story submission for the contest. It’s Round 1, and winners will obviously not be announced until later. Let me tell you about how it was I came about writing a 2500 word caper story about a telemarketer and a motorcycle gang, in less than a week. Boy, that was a mouthful.

Anyone who’s read my other posts or taken a gander at my repository blog might guess that this is something way out of my field. I spent the first few days after receiving the criteria thinking and distracting myself, then when I had a scratch of an idea, I did some research. Not that that solved any creative obstacles, but I did come across a few guidlelines for caper story archetypes. Funny how familiar character types, or titles, are when put into context.

The folks over at Writing Excuses, I cannot help but emphasize, were tremendously helpful. Not to mention a couple folks close to me whom I conned into reading the story in its draft stages. Anyway, I’m happy with the result. Not my best work, but not my worst either. I had a lot fun writing it and learned a few things in the process. That doesn’t always happen.

The finished product can be found here.

Leave a Reply

