Contest: NYCMidnight 2013

So I had registered for the NYCMidnight Short Story Challenge (that’d be http://www.nycmidnight.com/Competitions/SSC/Challenge.htm, sorry the Entry Deadline has already passed) not very long ago, and guess what folks, the contest has now begun.

For those of you who don’t know, NYCMidnight hosts short story challenges now and again, and I found them through Twitter. Basically the way this contest goes is that each of us 800 entry people are given a genre, a subject, and a character with which we must construct a story in a given time frame – my assignment, should I choose to accept it and I do because I paid the entry free after all – is a maximum 2,500 word count short story. Here are my given criteria:

  • Genre: Crime Caper
  • Subject: A motorcycle gang
  • Character: A telemarketer

Now I don’t know about you, dear readers, but I’ve never written a caper before in my life. This will be great a challenge for me, for this has brought to my attention that I in fact enjoy caper stories – I just didn’t know it until I had a name to attach to the enjoyment.

A few capers I’ve known and enjoyed, that you might recognize: Ocean’s 11Three KingsThe Great Muppet Caper. Who doesn’t like a good old high-stakes heist story? Anyway, the coming week will be a learning experience for me, and I’ll be sure and let you folks know what happened and how it’s going.

Image

(the one, the only, the man – Animal, from The Great Muppet Caper. R.I.P. Jim Henson)

One response to “Contest: NYCMidnight 2013

Leave a Reply

