Getting Started

Hello, everyone! First and foremost, I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy and distracting day to read my words.

As this is my second blog (my other is over at http://www.redamnesia.blogspot.com ) , let me simply begin by saying “Hey, welcome.” After a couple dozen posts we’ll see if anyone ever sifts through them to actually find this again, but hey, quite honestly this post is just to get stuff started.

So, what am I planning to have available for you to read here? I’m planning to reduce the whole “public journal” theme to a minimum, keeping my posts relevant and #positive# toward the realms of fiction and writing.

  • Book reviews/opinions
  • Neat articles or ideas I’ve come across
  • Science or History documents that might be interesting to implement into a sci/fi or fantasy setting
  • Activity regarding contests, competitions, conferences/events I might be paying attention to, considering, or even (gasp!) shelling out the money to actually attend
  • Books I’m reading currently, and my impression of them
  • Maybe some books I’ve read in the past and why I read them (what kept me interested, etc.)
  • Links to stories of other authors I believe deserve more attention (or heck, if they simply ask for it)
  • Pieces of artwork that I find inspiring.
  • Pieces of music I find inspiring.
  • Games and movies (art + music!?) that I feel like sharing.

And with that, I’ll wrap things up with one of the most memorable quotes (to me) from a certain series most of you might have heard of:

“My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer and I have my mind…and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone if it is to keep its edge. That’s why I read so much Jon Snow.” – Tyrion Lannister
― George R.R. MartinA Game of Thrones

 

Leave a Reply

